Happy Birthday to me!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY LAUREN!!!!  XOXOX Allyson

 Where has the time gone?  I have been having a blast exploring but also managed to push myself to my limit. I realized how important it is to slow down and take a break, even if it means one less day of seeing Manhattan. Sometimes a hard thing to do, when there is always so much going on and so much to see. I was feeling down with little things seeming to go wrong- pants ripping, camera breaking (2 months new), feet aching, leg twisting (a pulled muscle, perhaps?). Luckily I’m still in the US and take care of the little things but ultimately, I won’t let the little things get to me. Travel is not always easy but it’s all part of the experience. 

I celebrated my birthday yesterday relaxing, getting myself travel insurance and then hitting the meat packing district (which is now a chic and hip area) in Manhattan to experience the club scene. Fun. 

I can’t believe I’m leaving for Paris on Monday. I’m slowly leaving my comfort zones and it surely makes me a little nervous. It’s hitting me that I’m leaving my friends, leaving the states and am taking off to live my dream. No one said anywhere worth going was easy.

I’ve enjoyed New York and the first few days I wandered the city, wondering how it would be to live here for a year. I feel the biggest challenge could be the weather as I’m very spoiled being a California girl.  NY is great and reminds me a lot of when I lived in London. The subway, brick buildings, chic shopping, and parks and yet I’m left wondering what the magic is all about. People from CA and everywhere seem to describe New York with a particular flare and admiration. I’m not saying I don’t like NYC but living so close to San Francisco makes me bias. I love the Bay Area and appreicate it the more I travel. Traveling gives me a greater sense of awareness and appreciation! 

Ciao for now,

Lauren

Feel free to leave comments… it’s as easy as it looks.

Photos will be posted within the next few days!

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to me!

  1. Hiya,

    Pacing myself was the hardest thing I found on my last trip. I didn’t do it well, and so my “New York” experience was mostly spent staring at the wall of the hostel that I was lying in, ill.
    I think that’s a mistake to only make once. 🙂

    It’s so exciting watching you go.

    Play hard, have fun!

    And happy birthday, belatedly.

    *hug*

    J.

  2. Hey Lauren, you’re still here now, I’ll enjoy every moment…
    Wherever you are, you’ll always feel close. You’re doing the right thing, enjoy the moment, let go of the things that don’t matter and treasure the ones that do. Not an easy thing to learn, I try it too still 🙂 Love, ML

  3. I am gald you left my birthday post to you up top (thats what you get for stealing my laptop!) Had fun on the boat cruise today and cant wait to hear about paris…..

  4. Oh my your camera broke again? no luck for lauren. Happy Birthday dearest!!! have a great time on your great adventure. Remember to always rest with your cup of tea at night and have a great time.
    love you,
    Amber

  5. Hi Little Missy,
    Glad to hear your’e slowing down a bit to catch your breath so you can get ready for your next flury of experiences and to take care of yourself. VERY IMPORTANT!
    Also a little pleasantly surprised to hear you most likely prefer SF to NYC.

    Love and many hugs and kisses.

    Mome

I like comments!

