Missing the familiar

Barcelona has been on my list of places to visit for quite some time. Over the last 3 years, I’ve tried to come to Spain but for whatever reason has not worked out till now. I originally booked a 3 month trip to Spain starting in Madrid and ending in Barcelona. My 11 week travel plans changed when I was offered a teaching position at the last minute. I don’t say NO to opportunity when it comes knocking. Life is too short not too. So here I am, in Barcelona before I head home but instead of ending an 11 week journey in Spain,  I’m going home for the holidays. I believe everything happens for a reason and I’m grateful I booked the ticket before I had the job because I likely wouldn’t have returned for the holidays. Because it’s expensive and I’d think might as well take advantage of  2 weeks holiday in Europe. And yet, I know home is exactly what I need. Right now.

Overall, I’ve adjusted to Spanish living but I do have my ups and downs. I wonder, how in the world I was able to travel for 9 months (8 months solo) in Africa when life and travel were more challenging on the daily.

Spain offeres different challenges:

  • speaking Spanish, not always being able to express myself but pushing myself everyday to speak more, learn more words and expressions. Practice, Practice.
  • opening a bank account
  • not being able to access my money on a Friday night and having to wait till Monday to talk to the bank
  • going to the dentist
  • grocery stores are closed on Sundays
  • Spanish way of living is a lot slower paced,  but it’s good.
  • Experiencing the extremities of American and Spanish ways of living and doing things and knowing somewhere in the middle is balance.

I like a good challenge and I know each day, I’m learning more about myself and what I want.

I’m grateful I get to go home to see my family and friends. I often, miss the community I’ve created at home, I miss my friends, I miss seeing my mom. I miss the familiar. Familiar.   I miss a lot of food (especially Mexican food and fresh salsa and chips). But the familiar is something I can always go back to. I’ll be curious to see how I feel about the “familiar” when I’m home for 3 weeks.

I wonder: What will I miss in Spain? Will I miss Spain?

If you’ve lived abroad or are living abroad, what do you miss from home? 

Friends and family, I’m looking forward to seeing you and hanging out a lot!!! Hasta luego (See you soon!)

2 thoughts on “Missing the familiar

  1. I am sooooooooooooo glad you are coming home for the holidays. It would be a very long stretch to wait until July to you you again.

    See you in a few days.
    Love,
    Mom

I like comments!

