Enjoying the familiar

Missing the familiar is an interesting sort of thing. After my long flight  and walked through the  SFO airport, I thought, “yes, here I am, this is the familiar I’ve been missing.” It felt good. I was reminded of deli sandwiches, bagels, sustainable sourced restaurants, gourmet candies, and bookshops (where I could buy my hearts content of books in English) and the list goes on.

I grabbed my bag and awaited for my parents to pull up. The moment I saw my mom, I felt like I never left. We got on the freeway and it was as if I never left. It’s familiar. And this is why the familiar is so tricky- you miss it when you don’t have it but as soon as you have it, you wonder: why?

Well, My friends and family I don’t wonder why  I miss them. I do miss them and will miss them when I’m gone. I’ve seen all my friends now and meeting up with each one of them, I felt like I saw them yesterday! We just picked up where we left off. It feels so nice. But everything else, the longing for what I miss is almost more satisfying than actually getting it. Once I have it, I’m like oh yeah… no big deal.

I’ve been enjoying the familiar a lot

  •  spending time with my friends
  •  spending time with my family
  •  roaming around in SF and appreciating how beautiful a city it is
  •  seeing the X-mas decorations and how they compare to Spain
  • eating foods I can’t readily get in Spain
  • driving my car when I need it (though I do prefer public transit)
  • book stores filled with English books (I adore book stores but don’t read as much as you may expect)
  • carpeted floors
  • space heaters/central heating

I’ve also been reminded of the stuff I have and how much I don’t miss it. In fact, I forgot about some of my stuff, which means it must not be that important. I’ve been spending some of my time going through things and trying to lessen the stuff I own, which may seem like a silly thing to do with only 3 weeks at home but its nice to reflect on what I have, what I’ve been keeping, what I no longer need, and what I want to take back to Spain with me.

what are things you miss when you’re living away from home? do you find you miss it more than actually having it?

Leave a comment in the “comment” section below.

I like comments!

