“Getting to Know Me”

I was recently tagged by a friend and fellow blogger, Michelle from IheartMondegreens to participate in a blogging series for bloggers to “get to know each other” better.

So here goes…

What is your favorite saying or motto?

What would you do if you knew you could not fail? Author Unknown

 I often reflect on this quote when I’m feeling uncertainty or unsure of what comes next in my life. This quote empowers me and reminds me to ponder what I want and what I desire in my life without allowing insecurities, (perceived) judgement, finances, cultural or societal expectations influence me.

I’m also inspired  to Think outside the box, and reminded to dream and allow my dreams to take flight.  Because truly, if you didn’t have any limitations and knew you would succeed, what would you do?  Sometimes I find it a tough question to answer, sometimes I get so wrapped up in possibilities…

Imagining all possibilities

I also try to live by my motto: “Defy Convention.” I coined this when I was planning my adventure to Africa. Growing up in the good ole’ USA where the concept of “travel just to travel” is not common and rarely understood, I had to be my own personal advocate for why. I had my moments of self-doubt and had to continually fight the idea that  “you can’t just travel, you got to be working, studying, volunteering or  have a purpose, right?”

No. I can travel “just to travel.” I’m so grateful I had enough confidence in myself and supportive parent(s) who helped encourage me. (My dad questioned me until I boarded the plane).

If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

Now this is a tough question. I’ve grown up living in the SF Bay Area and have grown to really appreciate this magical place. It has beaches, rolling green hills, pine trees, delicious eateries, cool cities and a red bridge! I have yet to live elsewhere in the USA and if I did, I’d like to stay a while is Portland, Oregon. I love the hip, up and coming city, its sustainable focus, farmers markets, delicious food from an array of food trucks and restaurants and how the country side, wineries and beaches are nearby.  Sometimes I also dream up living in the French countryside, cooking up a storm and learning French. Anything is possible, right?

I dream of having a piece of land near the ocean where I live off the land: having a garden, raising chickens and enjoying delicious fresh eggs, learning to milk goats to make cheese and to be surrounded by nature and it’s beauty.  Where is this place? I’m not sure yet, I’m sure when I see it,   I’ll know it’s the place.

Beauty of Nature

Are you a gardener, or a garden admirer? You can be both!

After my long adventure in Africa, I was inspired and intrigued by food systems. Our global food system. I didn’t know where to start but I start reading Micheal Pollan’s Ominvore’s Dilemma and began volunteering in a garden. Slowly, the universe began conspiring with me and flash forward several months later,  I was teaching 5-18 year old’s how to grow vegetables and where food comes from. I also managed a weekly Farmers Market- bringing farmers and eaters together!

“My” 1/4 acre school garden

I love gardening. I love being an eye-witness to nature -seeing “good bugs” and ” bad bugs” do their work in the garden (ie: aphids devouring a plant and lady bugs eating the aphids), watching the magic of a compost pile. How do the worms and beetles know where the compost pile is? Where do they come from? I still wonder.

When I travel, I love seeing gardens whether it’s succulents, a veggie patch or an array of flowers. Living in the South of Spain, I don’t have the opportunity to garden. I feel nostalgic when I see gardens and get excited when I see a small farm.

Do you enjoy cooking? If so, what are some meals you like to prepare when you entertain?

I love cooking but don’t really have any special meals for entertaining. I love improvising in the kitchen and being inspired by what I have in my cupboards and fridge! You’ll often find me at the Farmers Market in California or weekly mercadillo (market with everything, clothes, food, art etc.) buying more veggies that I can cook in a week. I love the possibilities.

Which part of the world is next on your “list”?

This is a tough one. I really want to spend time in Chile and get to know my family. My dad was born and raised in Chile and left when he was 25. I’ve never really understood his/my culture until packing up and living in Spain. Improving my Spanish and being in a Latino culture has brought so much awareness and insight. Now, that I have more understanding, I want to learn more about my father, about his(my) culture and know this side of my family before it’s too late.

I also have dreamed, since I was 21, of going to Antarctica to work on a research boat for a summer. I’m not fond of the cold but what an incredible place to spend some time! An untamed wilderness.

There are many more places I want to visit, as well as return to, such as South Africa!

That’s all folks.

But now, I nominate a few bloggers to participate if they wish:

Sarah of Sarahsomewhere

ExpatEdna

Allyson of DomesticSuperhero

Feel free to choose any number of the questions below, or invent your own!

What is your favorite saying, or motto?
What is your dream job?
If you could live anywhere, where would it be?
When you travel, do you prefer to go to the city or the countryside?
Do you enjoy cooking? If so, what are some meals you like to prepare when you entertain?
If there were four people from any time period you could invite to dinner, who would they be?
Have you ever written or would you like to write a short story, memoir, or novel?
Tell me about your part of the world. What do you like to do in your hometown?
What part of the world do you have little interest in traveling to? Which part of the world is next on your “list”?
Are you a gardener, or a garden admirer? You can be both!
Do you enjoy reading, and do you have a favorite author? What are some of your favorite books?
What do you most enjoy about blogging, and what advice would you give new bloggers?

4 thoughts on ““Getting to Know Me”

  1. I’d love to someday have my own piece of land and grow my own food as well. It doesn’t have to be huge, but a good enough size to run around in and have a nice garden.
    I also love the idea of going back discovering your roots. You have family in Chile! I think that’s a prime opportunity right there. 🙂 And who knows? Maybe you’ll learn things about your dad (and yourself) that you never knew before.

    • Yes indeed. Chile is definitely on my radar! Coming to Spain has opened my eyes in ways I never could have imagined, providing awareness of the culture I grow up in but often didn’t understand!

  2. The Omnivores Dilemma is a beast to get through but it also changed how I ate as well. I try to eat as little corn as possible and despite what many people think my blog name represents I actually eat little meat (just pork as garnish to meat – hence it’s magic).

  3. Hmm, a Chilean Dad? Fabulous. I love diversity. My paternal grandad was Persian. And my maternal ancestors come from just about everywhere: France, Indonesia, Ireland, Arabia, Portugal.

    I love this “What would you do if you knew you could not fail? Author Unknown” I think I shall adopt it for future endeavours.

I like comments!

