A visit to el Mercado Central in Valencia

One of my favorite things to do when I travel is visit local markets, especially food markets. On our second day in Valencia we took a short walk from our apartment  to visit Mercado Central to buy some veggies and meat to make dinner. A nice break from constantly eating out, which is so easy to do in Spain!

The architecture is stunning.

El Mercado Central, Valencia

You know you’re in Spain when you see Jamón hanging from the ceiling and other cured meat.

Cured meat. Ah, how Spaniards love their meat!

Get your fruit!

Nothing like flavored lard, known as Sobrasada!

Eggs eggs eggs

You know you’re in Spain when you see all parts of the animal!

 

A Valencian favorite- Horchata and Fartons, sweet bread to dip in your Horchata! Horchata is a sweet drink made of sugar, tiger nuts and water!

Horchata and Fartons (sweet bread)

Beautiful architecture

9 thoughts on “A visit to el Mercado Central in Valencia

  1. I’m chuffed that I know what a Mercado is 🙂 Forms that tiny part of my Spanish language knowledge.
    Anyway, I think it’s the Mercados of the world that add a certain authenticity and wholesomeness to life 🙂

  2. Pingback: Did I miss something Valencia? « Roamingtheworld

  3. Why don’t we have mercados centrales back home? Why?? I love them! I took my dad to this exact one when he came to visit, and we loved it. I took a picture of a giant purplish-reddish octopus laying on ice.

  4. That looks like such a cool market! Spanish markets are great. Even though I’ve been here a year, seeing stuff like pigs’ heads still grosses me out.

    • Yeah, seeing all parts of the animal is definitely a trip. Makes us more connected even if it’s strange to see.

  5. Wow, you are right about the architecture. I’d love to see that. The market looks cool too, everything looks delicious except the pigs head, and come to think of it, the flavored lard. The fruit looks good though. LOL. What a treat to buy so many local foods.
    Love,
    Mom

I like comments!

