Exploring Salburua nature park in Vitoria-Gasteiz

 

Hello there...

Hello there…

I have a bad habit of waking up and immediately looking at my phone to know the time, my eyes barely adjusted to the light. And then of course, I check to see if I have any messages on Whatsapp (free text messaging app). I don’t give myself a minute to exit from dreamland before connecting with friends. However, some days it has it’s benefits. When I saw I had a message from a friend inviting me to join on a walk to explore a nearby park and that they we’re leaving in 20 minutes (based on the time they sent the message), I threw off the covers and hopped out of bed, got dressed, grabbed a banana for breakfast and walked out the door. A perfect way to start the day- exploring at 12:30.

Salburua park- Having fun in the letters

Salburua park- Having fun in the letters

Greeted by gloomy skies, we made our way to Salburua, a new barrio, neighborhood and nature park. I wouldn’t call it a pretty neighborhood despite the modernism, it feels like a post apocalypse place but someone must have thought they were designing a cretaive space. What do you think?

A view of Salburua neighborhood from the park

A view of Salburua neighborhood from the park

Kinda cool, kinda weird. What do you think?  A view of Salburua neighborhood from Salbura park

Kinda cool, kinda weird. What do you think? A view of Salburua neighborhood from Salbura park

Yes, I like taking photos of maps. It can be handy later…

A map of Salburua and surroundings. Can you see the farmland?

A map of Salburua and surroundings. Can you see the farmland?

Salburua park has wetlands that were drained many years ago for farmland. Before the new development, Salburua was  acres and acres of farmland but when the city decided to build on the farmland, they also converted some of the land back to it’s original habitat- wetlands. According the Ayuntamiento de Vitoria- Gastiez, the Salburua wetlands are some of the most important in Basque Country.

 

Wetlands in Salburua

Wetlands in Salburua

We were all game for a day of exploring and planned to take the easiest route, taking a loop trail but somehow got side-tracked and curious . We explored for 3 hrs vs. an hour and here is what we saw:

Talking a walk in Salburua

Talking a walk in Salburua

Fox tails... What are they called?

Fox tails… What are they called?

Deer eating. Not sure why/how they are here but they're is a fence so we can't get close to them

Deer eating. Not sure why/how they are here but they’re is a fence so we can’t get close to them

We sat in the observation deck for a while, not because their was a lot to see but surprise surprise, it began raining. After 20 minutes we decided to continue walking- in the rain- because rain is like air in Pais Vasco. It’s normal, you just learn to live with it!

An observation deck in Salburua

An observation deck in Salburua

Beautiful day when the sun comes out

Beautiful day when the sun comes out

By 3:30pm, we were starved and went on a brief hunt for a pintxo. We found some yummy ones with our third try! And I already know my legs are going to be sore tomorrow, I can feel it. Darn it! But a great way to spend a Sunday.

 

How do you like to spend your Sundays? Have you visited a nearby park or place recently that you’ve been wanting to visit?

 

 

11 thoughts on “Exploring Salburua nature park in Vitoria-Gasteiz

  1. Post apocalyptic is exactly what I’d say as well. I love discovering all the parks near me though. Kind of essential with the Tessa monster here.

  2. L for Lauren!
    I can’t believe this barrio is in Spain!! It looks really out of place!
    The photos are beautiful, so the forest. And happy that still some deers remaining in Spain!
    p.S: I also take photos of maps. They really saved me many times!

    • Thanks for the compliments Noelia!
      I know, right. The new development is a little strange and definitely doesn’t have the charm the center of Vitoria has.

  3. The scientific name is Dipsacus fullonum

    Synonym: Dipsacus sylvestris Huds.

    Common names: Common teasel, wild teasel, Fuller’s teasel, venuscup teasel

    it makes great natural ornaments!

  4. So pretty! If we’re not exploring other parts of Europe, we usually meet our brunch krewe after church and then go for a walk exploring Brussels. The rain is always looming near by for us too, so when there’s so we RUN outside!

    • Sounds like gloomy weather plagues both cities. I’m getting used to the rain, doesn’t seem to deter people here… but yes, Sunny days- I’m all over them

I like comments!

