Flashback Photo Friday: Hawaii

I recently began a new series on my blog, called Flashback Photo Fridays, where I will share a photo with a story, anecdote or explain why the photo is meaningful to me. This will be a great way for me to reflect on past travels, jog my memory to  “remember that time” or “Oh man, How did I get through X.” I have so many fun and crazy stories from my adventure in Africa, which  many didn’t get written because I didn’t have a laptop with me. So here’s hoping with this new series I can document many a story from the past and it won’t just be Flashbacks of Africa!

 

Visiting a good friend, who traded California skies for even sunnier skies and island life studying at the university of Oahu, Hawaii (smart gal, in every sense of the word). We enjoyed a week near the beach in honor of Thanksgiving on the big island of Hawaii. We chilled, ate lots and enjoyed  having a condo with vistas of the ocean, if you squinted your eyes hard enough.  I yearned to pass the days at the beach (isn’t that what you do when you’re in Hawaii?) but without a beach walking distance from our condo, I found other ways to spend my time.   Unfortunately, my friend was more interested in shopping and stocking up on goods with her mom because that’s what happens when you live on the islands, you get used to paradise and the beach, it’s not as special anymore.

Instead,  I entertained myself snapping photos of tropical flowers

Plumeria flower (I think)

Plumeria flower (I think)

Through the lens, I nearly jumped when I discovered eyes were looking at me!  I was snapping more than just a beautiful flower…

Why hello there, Mr.  Praying mantis!

For the record, we did get to a beach and took a drive but I still have yet to see the town of Hilo and the erupting volcano! It’s been on my list for years! One day…

Have you ever been taken a photo and discovered something more after shooting? More than you bargained for in a good way… or bad? 

Don’t miss a post, extra photos and announcements,  Follow me on Facebook!

9 thoughts on “Flashback Photo Friday: Hawaii

  1. Pingback: Flashback Photo Fridays: Elephants galore in Botswana, Africa | Roamingtheworld

  2. Pingback: Flashback Photo Fridays: Camping on the edge! | Roamingtheworld

  3. I have this great photo of myself in London. I’m not sure where it is, but I think near Covent Garden there is a statue of Charlie Chaplin. He is one of my favorite actors and directors ever! I had my camera to my sister, climb on the statue and pose giving him a kiss on the cheek. It’s such a great photo, but equally great are the random people in the background. One girl is looking in the distance, nonplussed, but one guy on a bench is staring directly at the camera, acting cool. Here’s the link, it’s a fun one!

  4. I almost didn’t see Mr. Mantis there…beautiful photo though.It’s true that people who live by the beach hardly see the beauty in it.

    • Thanks Azra.
      I didn’t see it until I snapped several photos first! And funny, how when we live in Paradise, we can forget about it!

  5. Wow that is a big praying mantis! We occasionally see them in my backyard here in NY, usually during the summer (not sure where they go during the cold months, do insects hibernate?).

    I sometimes ended up with topless people in the background of my beach pictures when I was in Europe. This often happened back in the days before I had a digital camera. It’s happened once or twice since I acquired a digital camera because I’m usually not paying attention to the faraway people in the picture.

    • Don’t think they hibernate but where they go is a good question!

      lol. That’s awesome, what a great way to unexpectedly capture Europe- Topless ladies!

  6. I’ve never seen a praying mantis before! This is incredible. I’ve never had anything this cool be in a photo unexpectedly before, but I have noticed my fair share of things in photos when I was reviewing them that I didn’t realize were there when I was taking them…mostly funny people in the background.

    • Hi Mike,
      Thanks for stopping by and for the compliment!
      Always fun to go back through photos and see what you really captured!

I like comments!

