Flashback Photo Fridays: Call me crazy; Riding in South Africa

I’ll ride, if you ride,”a  fellow tourists said to me while on a guided tour of an ostrich farm in Oudtshoorn, South Africa. I agreed without thinking, assuming she was joking. You know the attitude of sure thang because I know it’s all talk and no action.

We toured around the farm learning that the feathers are used for costumes, decorations and clothing,  ostrich eggs are the biggest bird eggs and very sturdy! Who knew you could stand on one without it breaking?! And before my arrival, I had no idea people rode ostriches, and that ostrich races existed. I mean, I vaguely knew you could eat ostrich meat (which I later learned is tasty).

At the end of the tour, she looked at me and said, “So are you ready? We’re going to do this, right?” 

Shit

I said to myself. And at that I knew there was only one thing I could do.

I handed my camera to my friend and then I saw the sign:

CAUTION: Riders ride at their own risk.

Then I looked at the ostriches feet. They archaic. Remind me of dinosaurs. I could envision it well-  one kick and I’d be a goner!

Before I knew it, I was sitting a top the largest living bird with a bag over it’s head as I was instructed to cross my legs together under it’s large wings and hold on tight. I gave a thumbs up when I was ready and within a minute they whipped off the bag from the ostriches head and opened the gate…

Like a bullet, riding an ostrich in Oudtshoorn, South Africa

Like a bullet, riding an ostrich in Oudtshoorn, South Africa

Like  a bullet, we were off!

“Holy moly have mercy,” I thought!

Adrenaline flooded in.  And just before my mind realized what was really happening, my ride was over.

Wowza. That was an experience!

Riding an ostrich in Oudtshoorn, South Africa

Riding an ostrich in Oudtshoorn, South Africa

 

Call me crazy… now I have just one more thing to add to “what’s a crazy thing you have done in your life? list” 

And yes if I had the opportunity to do it again, I’d do it all over again! Definitely a good adrenaline rush!

 

Flashback Photo Fridays is when I share a photo and why it’s meaningful to me.

 

Have you ever agreed to do something without really thinking about it or assuming it wouldn’t happen? Have you riden an ostrich? Would you?

If you’re new to my blog, Welcome. If you enjoy what you read, please take a moment to Follow me on on Facebook

7 thoughts on “Flashback Photo Fridays: Call me crazy; Riding in South Africa

  1. Pingback: Flashback Photo Friday: Dangers of driving solo in Namibia | Roamingtheworld

  2. That looks insane! I have not ridden an ostrich, just a camel. And I enjoyed it. It was an interesting way to see the world and much slower than your ostrich.

    • It was insane but so worth the thrill! I’d likely do it again but imagine I’d be more apprehensive. ha.

  3. LOL! I’ve been to Oudtshoorn but never rode an Ostrich. The caves were awesome though. Still hard to believe you were here (and I didn’t know you then).

  4. I rode an ostrich in Inner Mongolia once – luckily his trainer had a good handle on him so it was actually quite a peaceful ride!

I like comments!

